Download free convert flac to aac itunes

Q : FLAC converting to M4A

I have the software to do so but ultimately I want AAC because the file size is smaller. I have the option in my software of converting to ALAC or M4A. Both o

I have the software to do so but ultimately I want AAC because the file size is smaller. I have the option in my software of converting to ALAC or M4A. Both of course are M4A files with the ALAC being a larger file. Like I said, I take that file and convert to AAC in iTunes. Is there a better way and am I losing too much audio quality? Please help.

iPhone 5, Windows XP

Posted on Jul 30, 2014 3:43 PM

  • Helpful answers
  • All replies

I use Foobar 2000 to convert from FLAC to 320kbps mp3 and then import these directly into iTunes. FLAC -> ALAC has no quality loss (its just a different wrapper around uncompressed 16/44.1 audio data). Converting FLAC to a lossy format and then converting this to AAC would give an unneeded quality loss.

Jul 30, 2014 3:58 PM

I understand.So, FLAC to ALAC is not lossy?

Then, in iTunes ALAC to AAC is not lossy? Just want to make sure because as I understand MP3 is lossy

Jul 30, 2014 4:58 PM

Yes, FLAC to ALAC is lossless, it doesn't change the audio at all - i.e., you could convert WAV (CD audio) to FLAC, to ALAC, and back to WAV and the 2nd WAV file should be bit-for-bit identical to the first one.

AAC is lossy - it is very similar to mp3 but uses a slightly different (claimed to be better) compression algorithm. Its actually been developed as the successor to mp3. At higher bit rates (256kbps or higher) the difference between mp3 and AAC is marginal, and audible differences are more likely to result from the encoding s/w rather than the algorithm itself. If you want to use lower bit rates (less than 128kbps) then AAC may give better results (i.e., less perceived quality loss) than mp3.

If you want to convert from FLAC to AAC best bet is to do so outside iTunes - again Foobar2000 is one (of many) apps that will allow you to do this. Foobar's AAC converter supports multiple modes depending in usage; with VBR (the best option for use with iTunes) you can select bit rates from approx 20 kbps up to 400 kpbs. 256kbps would be consistent with the "high quality" option for CD import in iTunes.

Jul 30, 2014 5:17 PM

One additional comment .

Jul 30, 2014 5:29 PM

I use Bigasoft audio converter which can convert into:

MP3, WMA, M4A, AC3, WAV, OGG, AIFF, ALAC, FLAC, CAF

Amongst others. I basically want to take a FLAC file into iTunes and have a minimum of loss. Bigasoft is good software.So maybe I don't want t use AAC you are telling me. If not, which format while not having huge huge files?

Jul 30, 2014 6:01 PM

Jul 30, 2014 6:39 PM

Okay, thank you so much. Just so I understand.

1. Take the FLAC files and convert to M4A at 256kbps.

2. Drag and drop or file>add file option in iTunes or does it make a difference?

I always edit the metadata and album artwork in iTunes, is that a problem?

Jul 31, 2014 6:33 AM

That sounds fine. I always aim to have the output from converting FLAC go to a pre-determined folder and then use File > Add Folder to Library .

Jul 31, 2014 2:05 PM

Okay, I follow you. I generally use the add file feature anyhow but to know it doesn't make a difference is comforting.

As far as metadata, most of the files I am converting are live shows as well, go figure. I know the error well and may have to change my ways. ;-)